One Night Can Change Your Life

4 Dec

The night I went to my first Second City Workshop back in 1969.

The night our improv group “Mother’s Kisses” left Chicago to make our fame and fortune in the City of the Angels. (Just ignore the fact that we broke up three months later.)

The night an unbelievably cute girl in floppy jeans crossed the Groundlings stage and my heart burst out of my chest. (Thirty five years later and I still have her convinced I’m not a complete fraud. And they say I can’t act!)

The night I went on the Gong Show after having quit my last ,full time, non-show biz, job earlier that morning.

The Night Pee-wee’s Playhouse premiered on  the Groundlings stage.

The night Katherine Nora Steinkellner was born four and a half hours before dawn on the 4th of July. (Have there ever been more fireworks on tv?)

The night Theodore John Steinkellner slam dunked onto this planet.

The night Emma Rose Steinkellner left Fairyland and deigned to come brighten our nursery and lives. (Though, really it was the afternoon.  A picture of Teddy holding her that first week could melt titanium.)

The night they premiered our animated film ,”Teacher’s Pet”. There it was up there on the marquee just two blocks away from the  Hollywood Boulevard bookstore I worked at during my first four years in LA.

The Night Milton “Mr. Television” Berle gave us our first Emmy.  (After the show walking by the building with an ice skating rink in it  gave  the whole evening a surreal dream quality .)

The night we had breakfast with Alan Menken. (Okay, it was morning. But later that night we had changed our lives and were suddenly in the Broadway musical business.)

Tonight.  (Depending on how today turns out.)

OneNight

4 Responses to “One Night Can Change Your Life”

  1. Steve Newman December 4, 2012 at 7:36 PM #

    Great timeline…I gotta do that.

  2. Grant Harvey December 4, 2012 at 9:36 PM #

    one eight hundred ka blah blah blah

  3. Jim Jackman February 4, 2013 at 8:26 AM #

    The night I went to my first Groundling impro class. My instructor was Bill Steinkellner. A man whose words would be as important and knowledgeable as any words of wisdom spoken to me form any mentor, friend or parent.

    • Jim Jackman February 4, 2013 at 8:30 AM #

      I’m embracing my spelling mistake. Improv

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

