Li’l Sisyphus

30 Nov

“I’m exhausted.  Just give me a sec to catch my breath.  Tiny lungs and all, ya know. What happened was: I was trying to lift my head to kinda prep myself to roll over for the first time… Okay, full disclosure, eighth attempt… I can’t say for sure because I don’t know how to count yet.

So I kinda forgot how much my head weighed.  That’s okay when you got one of those big bodies like my mom.  You can just whip your head all over the place.  But me , with my cute-but-puny muscles, it’s like myth of Sisyphus time (while I was still inside of my mom – AKA: Paradise – she used to play these CDs on mythology.  I don’t know if it was supposed to benefit me or her but in my case it stuck).

I gotta tell ya trying to roll over is awesome. Getting so close each time is fantastic. I don’t know if it’s that rush you get from being alive,  or it’s  just a reward for taking another step on the Baby Highway.  But you gotta try it.

All right, I can do this thing.  Unh… unh…unh… up, and …crap!  Unh … unh …unh … up, and over. I’m over. I’m face down in the comfy but I am definitely over.  Yes, dear God, yes!

I. am. pooped… Ok, I  feel like I’m just eight attempts away from trying something else…  Next, I’m thinking… I’ll try to fly.”

One Response to “Li’l Sisyphus”

  1. Sioux Steinkellner May 9, 2012 at 7:46 PM #

    I DON’T KNOW WHAT YOUR SECRET IS, BILL, BUT SOMEWHERE INSIDE YOUR
    BRAIN LIVES A BABY. ALL YOUR POSTS ABOUT BABIES ARE FANTASTIC–
    POIGNANT, WITTY, CHARMING. FUNNY. THEY PULL AT THE OLE HEARTSTRINGS AND LEAVE YOUR LOYAL FANS HUNGRY FOR MORE. I READ IT AND READ IT AGAIN. IT MAKES THE WORLD SEEM NICER & MAKES ME TINGLE DOWN TO MY TOES!
    LOVE, SIOUX. 😀

Leave a Reply

