Hail Mary: The Amazing Story Behind the Prayer

28 Dec

“Hail, Mary full of grace, the Lord is with thee.”

“What?”

“Hail, Mary full of grace…”

“Yes, I heard you – but I’m not getting your drift.”

“I have been sent by the Creator of All  to say unto you, “Hail Mary…”

“Okay, stop.  The words I could repeat in my sleep, but what does it mean?”

“The Lord is going to change your life in a profound way.  You will carry within you His Child.  The Messiah.  King of Kings. Holy of Holies. Son of our Lord God on high.”

“No, thank you. I’m sure it’s a very great honor but it just doesn’t sound like me.  There is a carpenter named Joseph.  He lives in town, and if I play my cards right I could marry him. But if I have… what – God’s Baby?   Then I can just kiss those plans good-bye.”

“But I have been sent.  It’s all been arranged.  Prophesied and everything.”

“Sorry.”

“There’s this great play in football that will be named after you.”

“What?”

“Nothing it’s a joke that Michael told me to say.”

“Wait, are those wings?

“Yes.”

“Hunh…”

“So, come on… You’ll get your name in the Bible.”

“Oh, okay.”

Leave a Reply

