How I Met Someone Else’s Mother

31 Dec

“Clarissa Emmet Grayson – this is Reginald Powell Hunnicutt, lawyer, adventurer and perhaps the most eligible bachelor at our New Year’s Eve Masquerade Ball. Reggie, Clarissa is co-chairperson of tonight’s do and last year was voted  The Girl Boys Were Most Mad For.

“Charmed to meet you, Reginald.”

“And I you, Clarissa. I’d be forever in your debt if you’d allow me the next dance. And if the dance seemed adequate to you, perhaps we could steal away later for a candlelit midnight supper aboard my sloop, Fandango.  If we hit it off, which I am certain we will, we could fly to Rio and be married as the Brazilian sky turns pink with dawn. We’ll have three kids: two boys and a girl – but each will have initials starting with G. We’ll be known as America’s finest family.  And we’ll grow old together and die in each other’s arms.”

“I’m sorry, Reginald I can’t dance.”

“Ah, well.  Punch, then?”

Leave a Reply

