The Tormented Love Life of Dante Alighieri: A One Minute Play

16 Feb

CURTAIN RISES ON YOUNG HOOLIGANS CHANTING —

HOOLIGANS: Dante and Beatrice

In the lowest circle of hell

Soul kissing so very much

Their tongues begin to swell.

BEATRICE: Do something, Dante.  Make them cease their prankery and twaddle.

DANTE:  Oh, my sweet Vision of Pale Dreams, I can not. My Angel of Whiskered Clouds. No warrior be I.  It is my fate to be a poet. I am unable to even threaten. There is no beauty in the Arms of Man … Except for you in the arms of  this man.

BEATRICE: I hate having a wordsmith for  a boyfriend.

DANTE: What other girlfriend can be assured of this?   Beatrice shall live through the ages through Dante’s verse.

BEATRICE: (SIGH)  I forgot… truce?

DANTE: Truce.

THEY GAZE INTO EACH OTHER’S EYES FOR WHAT SEEMS LIKE HALF AN ETERNITY.

 

CURTAIN

 

Q & A with author and refreshments to follow.

 

 

Leave a Reply

