You’re Only as Good as Your Last Gig

11 Apr

Well, for awhile there I had a great gig in a little show called “The Night They Shot President Lincoln”.

We played mostly schools and libraries.  I had second billing because I played John Wilkes Booth.  For a bus-and-truck it was pretty cool.  We had a semi to-scale Ford’s Theater as our set.  It had a balcony and everything.  But then one night, as I leapt from the balcony after the vile deed had been done, I sprained my right paw — bad.  And the rest, as they say, was history.

I worked for awhile as a paw model using my good paw.  A couple of dogfood commercials where they were too cheap to pay for the whole dog, get my drift?

I was way in the back in one of Fang’s scenes in “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Whatever”.  But you don’t see me in the flick because I got left on the cutting room floor. Editors are Satan – am I right?

I got kind of excited yesterday because the dog next door told me they might be looking to put in a kind of Sandy into “Sister Act: The Musical”.  Y’know, to be a convent pet or something.  But then I found out that the dog they chose belongs to one of the writers.  Sheesh! What would he know? …  Oh, for Marmaduke’s sake, I’m hogging the whole convo, here.  So, what’s up with you?”

Woof, woof, woof.”

OMG, I’ve been wasting my breath on a non-pro!”


One Response to “You’re Only as Good as Your Last Gig”

  1. Darla Sharp February 2, 2012 at 6:01 PM #

    Funny post and the postcard is the cutest ever! I’ve now got new ideas of how to play with my little dogs!

Leave a Reply

