The Blind-date From Another Dimension

12 Jul

 

“Why aren’t you dressed, June?  Peter is going to be here any minute.”

“Who?”

“Leo’s second, cousin on his Uncle Bram’s side.  Remember I said we’d double-date. You, me, Leo and Peter.  Leo can drive.”

“I said I’d think about it.  I didn’t say for sure.”

“Well, not in so many words… but you didn’t say no.  Come on.”

“What’s he like?”

“Nice.  Fairly good looking. Steady job. And he’s from a great family.”

“And?  Come on blind-dates always have an unspoken.  He’s not really blind is he?”

“No, no, no, no noooooo.  Okay, he’s a little scary.”

“Uh-oh.”

“It’s mostly his eyes.  They’re a bit ummm, moist.  And if they lock on yours it can be a little disconcerting.  But once you get used to it, it’s not so bad.  I never have but I never  really tried.”

“Forget it.”

“And okay, last time he showed up with a tiny trickle of blood coming from the corner of his lip.  But I’m sure he cut himself shaving …. Wait a second, June.  Come back.  We’ll have fun.  June… June… Darn it… Annnhhhhhhh…”

(SHUDDER). “Oh, hello, Peter. I didn’t hear you come in.”

Leave a Reply

