The Slam Dunk, Sure Fire Way to Write That Novel!

13 Jan

“In order to get the appropriate feeling of solitude I found that I had to take measures that some might find extreme. For instance this room used to be stuffed to the gills with antiques that my Great Aunt Claire had gathered from all parts of the semi-civilized world.”

“I had all of them removed and stored save for this solid chair and small table. Thus, I could be alone with my thoughts of fiction…”

“Once I had accomplished this, however I felt I had gone a little over the top in my endeavor for maximum artistry. I needed to have a bit of the outside world here with me to balance my existential plight.”

“So, I had my good friends, Angelo and Frank, the brothers, McLafferty paint a combination floral pattern/gathering vortex behind me. Whenever, I need inspiration I just turn around and gaze awhile.”

“Now, be gone. I must work.”

And with that the grand nephew adjusted the furniture for the umpteenth time and began to write his
novel.

One Response to “The Slam Dunk, Sure Fire Way to Write That Novel!”

  1. SiouxP January 18, 2012 at 7:37 PM #

    Is this a photo or a postcard? It really captures that sense of solitude—-only the writer can turn the blank page ion gold. LOL, Sioux. 🙂

Leave a Reply

