Yet Another Scheme to Join a Steinkellner Workshop

25 Jan

From a litte favor a thousand migraines will grow. – Yiddish proverb (Entirely made up by the author because he couldn’t find one on the subject.)

“Hello, Billy. Listen I don’t have much time so I’ll get right to the point.”

“O-kay.”

“It’s about the Improv Troupe and Francis Maclennan.”

“Isn’t he that guy that everyone is afraid will go postal any day now?”

“That is just a rumor started by a disgruntled student who had to stand next to him in Jazz Choir. But it’s funny that you should bring that up. Has anyone ever told you how funny you are?”

“Well, on occasion but never enough. So, Francis?”

“He said that at the improv auditions you made everyone so comfortable and everybody seemed to have a good time. And that you were a genius.”

“Uh-huh?”

“And that he hasn’t heard back yet but Francis thinks he did a fantastic audition.”

“Uh-oh.”

“What, I didn’t catch that?”

“Nothing, go on.”

“Well, I didn’t see him audition or what the qualifications for the workshop are but I just wanted to give you a little back story on Francis.”

“O-kay.

“He’s an only child because his identical twin was wiped out in an avalanche. Francis survived but was in a full body cast for two years. Somebody went on the internet and spread the rumor that he hated poor people on sight so he couldn’t leave his house for another two years. Being alone all that time he developed double vision and tinnitus. And last week the only person who ever showed interest in him said she was going to the Prom with his arch-enemy. So?”

“Sooooo, you thought it might help if I put Francis on the Improv Troupe?”

“Yes, yes. Is that possible? It would be a game changing-end of a long dark night-turning point-life saver for Francis.”

A REALLY LONG PAUSE WHERE YOU CAN SEE SEASONS CHANGE AND BABIES GROW INTO OLD PEOPLE.

“I guess I could make him an Alternate.”

3 Responses to “Yet Another Scheme to Join a Steinkellner Workshop”

  1. Adeline January 25, 2012 at 4:40 PM #

    I looooove it!

  2. Dan March 10, 2012 at 12:24 PM #

    I laughed out loud. That was great!

  3. Jim Jackman May 6, 2015 at 1:37 PM #

    I remember finding out about your class and asking you if I could take it. You paused and said “Well you can come watch”. Thank you for letting me come watch and learn from the fantastic people that were in the class. When the day came that you said “You want to be in the class” I was scared to death but you made me feel like I belonged. You are a great teacher and director. Thanks Bill.

Leave a Reply

