Never Pick a Comedy Writer for a Valentine

14 Feb

You hit me smack in the heart when you walked across that Groundling stage. The mere sight of you with your curly hair and floppy jeans made me blow up what I thought was my life up until that moment. I threw away all my hopes and dreams. (And a really crumby apartment just around the corner from the (then) Grauman’s Chinese Theater.) I had absolutely no assurances that this was my future but I plunged ahead into the unknown.

I am not a plunger. I am a check the wind with my finger, look both ways, think about it a long time and come back tomorrow for further information. But my heart grabbed me like a sky-diving instructor and over we went.

What if all those cute little stories, cards and calls from pay phones hadn’t worked? Would I have just gone back to Chicago? Would years have gone by and we’d meet again on the street like Streisand and Redford in The Way We Were?

Could I have not taken “no” for an answer? Would I have stalked you? I already had the hat. (Inside joke.)
I can see myself as a stalker. As a kid there was many a Sunday when I would hang around a girl’s house waiting to see when she’d come home so I could catch a glimpse of her.

Or maybe I could have waged some long form campaign using surrogates. You know the old “find out if she likes me” elementary school yard move.

Would I have had enough chutzpah to do whatever it took to win your heart for my heart? I think so because even though you didn’t know it at the time you were my soul-mate. And you always will be. I won your heart and I’m not giving it back.

4 Responses to “Never Pick a Comedy Writer for a Valentine”

  1. Jonathan Stark February 14, 2012 at 10:40 AM #

    Is this about Suzanne Kent?

  2. kay February 14, 2012 at 10:59 AM #

    Who shouldn’t have picked? Cheri or You? Or is this about George?

  3. SiouxP February 14, 2012 at 3:47 PM #

    Great Valentine that’s more beautiful ’cause it’s true. “I won your heart and I’m not giving it back”.—wonderful Aside–Is the deer stalker hat the one John and I brought back for you from London in 1972? Happy Valentine’s Day to Team Steinkellner. sioux

  4. Steve White February 14, 2012 at 9:36 PM #

    Bill,
    You’re a true romantic. Was looking for your email and only found this – wondering if you’d send it to me.
    Best Steve White

Leave a Reply

