What It’s Like to Slowly Turn Into a Ghost.

7 Mar

How did I end up looking so much like my father? He looks more like my brother than either my brother, Mike (to the right of my Dad) or my brother, Tom. My brothers have my mother’s eyes in this photo. (There is a picture of my mother when she is fairly young where she looks exactly like my brother, Mike in a dress.)

Of course, the resemblance to my Dad is mostly the hair, eyebrows and ears. You know a little thing we like to call “the face”. It is pretty spooky starting to look more and more like the first Theodore Steinkellner when I never thought I looked like anyone in my family.

Too bad he didn’t live long enough to see that his youngest had turned out pretty decent. (Depending on who you’re talking to. Yeah, yeah I’m just fishing for compliments using self-deprecation as bait.) Or to meet his grandchildren. They would have gotten his buttons busting.

I don’t know if that is my brother, John or me closest to the camera with his head mostly cut off. Judging by the age of my brothers I think it’s me. This is about as close as I get to having a picture with my dad.

Tom and Mike in their crazy “period” shirts (looking as if they may have been made from drapes) and my dad in a tie make me think this must have been taken on a holiday. Plus,we didn’t own a camera, so it must be a holiday. I’m guessing Thanksgiving. Long before Afghanistan, September 11th or Viet Nam even. A Thanksgiving long, long ago.

2 Responses to “What It’s Like to Slowly Turn Into a Ghost.”

  1. Jonathan Stark March 8, 2012 at 3:46 PM #

    Wow, that’s pretty freaky, Bill. You look a lot like your dad.

  2. Steve newman April 25, 2012 at 12:07 PM #

    The resemblence is astounding. Im sure he would have been. Very proud of you Bill. I love the tie!!!

Leave a Reply

