How Dr. Zhivago Came to America: An Unconfirmed Rumor

5 Apr

“Ever since I was a small child I have loved America. I love the big trains and the supermarkets all jammed with food. Like every day was Christmas. Even the word supermarket was so American. Like Superman and super sale.”

“But I was born in a little town in Russia with a name so long and boring I don’t have the patience to translate.”

“Not easy to get from boring little town to super U.S. of A., no? It is far easier to live naked in a Siberian winter. Still I set my heart and head to trying to get there.”

“If I were in the Bolshoi I could dance my way to the Statue of Liberty. But my feet are like two ice buckets.”

“If I could paint there might be some kind of exhibition at the Met where I could rail against the Capitalist pigs during day and slip away to a 7/11 for a slurpee at night. But alas I can not even paint a rude chair.”

“So, like everyone else with great ambition but no talent I became a writer.”

“One day I overheard an old man in a restaurant raging about his family. I copied down his every word. Then I changed him from a pig farmer to a doctor and voila– Nobel Prize here I come. God Bless America!”

One Response to “How Dr. Zhivago Came to America: An Unconfirmed Rumor”

  1. SiouxP April 5, 2012 at 8:33 PM #

    Really enjoyed this. I think you are some kind of wizard—accessing brains–from all walks of life: Doctors, Saints, Parents, Movie Stars, Medieval Manuscript Masters, Babies. And if that wasn’t enough cats & dogs! Best of all—you share with your loyal followers. A piece of wit, whimsy & wonder every day. Love, Sioux

Leave a Reply

