How a Member of Team Steinkellner Can Become Invisible.

23 May

I have no idea how many times I have come across this picture without seeing what is truly important. I have always liked it because it is a picture of the area right outside the playroom. It is a kooky little side yard with all this crazy long grass.

The grass seems to be a rare strain, possibly from another planet. But it is really just regular long grass. It’s what our whole lawn would look like if we never cut it.

I have always loved this picture because instead of a window view it looks like a framed painting. I thought there was a postcard story in there somewhere. So, I’ve kept it with the other postcards in the hopes that one day an idea would pop out of my brain and onto the page.

What I failed to notice all those times of looking at it, is that two year old Emma is in the picture. It must have been taken when we first moved into the house because there is no furniture in the room.

Emma is laying down on her back in front of the window. She is in the shadows but how does one not see Emma? Now, that I see her, I can tell she is this bundle of energy about to explode even though she is pretending to relax with a cup and a book.

Never tell Emma about this story or I’ll never hear the end of it. One day I’ll be walking her down the aisle and she’ll whisper in my ear –“Remember that time you didn’t see me in that picture”. Because that’s the way we roll…

3 Responses to “How a Member of Team Steinkellner Can Become Invisible.”

  1. Sioux Steinkellner May 23, 2012 at 8:12 PM #

    I thought it was a framed picture with a young child, barely visible, lying on the floor looking at a book. There is almost a zen quality, calm, serene, private. I love this postcard, the post and the way you & Emma roll! Love, SIOUX

  2. SiouxP May 23, 2012 at 8:20 PM #

    TYPO ALERT: Lying should be laying, sorry.

  3. Emma November 10, 2012 at 10:17 AM #

    Well if you didn’t want me to know, the internet is the perfect place to hide it! (I love you pop)

Leave a Reply

