The Music Maker

1 Jun

 

  I play for the young man whose heart is broken and soul is frozen.

I play for the child who dances with the wind and sings the songs of before she was born.

I play for the old who are so scared of dying not knowing that when they die they will be afraid no more.

I play for the unhearing who can only watch my fingers dance.

I play for the musician who nods along like a wise man at the top of the mountain.

I play for the madman who growls and jumps and crashes back into the forest until he sleeps beneath the full moon.

I play for the clouds so that they will know what shapes to become.

I play for the foolish so that they may feel superior.

I play for those who seek God but don’t know where to look.

I play for the outcasts so that they may find a home.

I play for those who only look to the future so that they may linger awhile in the past.

I play for God because I know it is right.

Leave a comment